APHC010095222024



IN THE HIGH COURT OF ANDHRA PRADESH :: AMARAVATI (Special Original Jurisdiction) [3446] WEDNESDAY ,THE TWENTY EIGHTH DAY OF FEBRUARY TWO THOUSAND AND TWENTY FOUR PRESENT

HONOURABLE THE CHIEF JUSTICE DHIRAJ SINGH THAKUR

THE HONOURABLE SRI JUSTICE R RAGHUNANDAN RAO

W.P(PUBLIC INTEREST LITIGATION) NO: 53 OF 2024

Between:

PLVNMURTHY@MURTHYYADAV ... Petitioner

AND

UNION OF INDIA AND OTHERS

... Respondents

Sri K.S. Murthy, Senior Counsel a/w Sri Ponnada Sree Vyas, counsel for the petitioner.

Mr. C. Sumon, learned Government Pleader for the State.

Mr. V. Surya Kiran Kumar, learned Standing Counsel for respondent No.4.

Mr. K. Madhava Reddy, learned Standing Counsel, for respondent No.6.

Learned Government Pleader for Revenue, for respondent Nos.'7 & 8.

The Court made the following:

Service is waived by learned Deputy Solicitor General for respondent No.1; Mr. C. Sumon, learned Special Government Pleader attached to the Office of the learned Advocate General for respondent Nos.2, 3 & 5 and learned Government Pleader for Revenue for respondent Nos.7 & 8. Mr. V. Surya Kiran Kumar, learned Standing Counsel, waives notice for on behalf of respondent No.4.

Mr. K. Madhava Reddy, learned Standing Counsel, waives notice for respondent No.6.

The present petition has been filed in public interest to highlight the inaction of respondent Nos.4,6 & 7 to check the unauthorized construction activity which is taking place in gross violation of the coastal zone regulations.

We have also seen photographs which are placed on the file which does show heavy machinery being utilized and some construction having already taken place in close proximity to the sea. This apparently is in violation of the coastal zone regulations.

We, therefore, direct respondent Nos.4,6 & 7 to take immediate steps to stop all activity and seize the machinery on spot till further orders.

Detailed response be also filed with regard to the action that respondent Nos.4,6 & 7 proposes to take against the violators.

List on 27.03.2024.

DHIRAJ SINGH THAKUR, CJ

R. RAGHUNANDAN RAO, J

Vjl