ITEM NO.20 COURT NO.1 SECTION PIL-W

SUPREME COURT OF INDIA RECORD OF PROCEEDINGS

CONMT.PET.(C) No. 1653/2018 in W.P.(C) No. 412/2016

GAURAV KUMAR BANSAL

Petitioner(s)

VERSUS

MR.DINESH KUMAR & ORS.

Respondent(s)

(WITH IA No. 107760/2021 - APPROPRIATE ORDERS/DIRECTIONS, IA No. 107762/2021 - EXEMPTION FROM FILING AFFIDAVIT, IA No. 84969/2021 - EXEMPTION FROM FILING AFFIDAVIT, IA No. 23289/2019 - EXEMPTION FROM FILING O.T., IA No. 24260/2020 - EXEMPTION FROM FILING O.T., IA No. 35579/2019 - EXEMPTION FROM FILING O.T., IA No. 31994/2019 - EXEMPTION FROM FILING O.T., IA No. 24258/2020 - EXEMPTION FROM PERSONAL APPEARANCE, IA No. 122705/2018 - PERMISSION TO APPEAR AND ARGUE IN PERSON, IA No. 196981/2019 - PERMISSION TO FILE ADDITIONAL DOCUMENTS/FACTS/ANNEXURES)

WITH

MA 2352/2018 in W.P.(C) No. 412/2016 (PIL-W)
(WITH IA No. 86502/2021 - APPROPRIATE ORDERS/DIRECTIONS, IA No. 86503/2021 - EXEMPTION FROM FILING AFFIDAVIT)

Date: 20-03-2023 These matters were called on for hearing today.

CORAM:

HON'BLE THE CHIEF JUSTICE

HON'BLE MR. JUSTICE PAMIDIGHANTAM SRI NARASIMHA

HON'BLE MR. JUSTICE J.B. PARDIWALA

For Petitioner(s) Petitioner-in-person

For Respondent(s) Ms. Madhavi Divan, A.S.G.

Mr. Gurmeet Singh Makker, AOR

Ms. Sunita Sharma, Adv.

Ms. Seema Bengani, Adv.

Mr. Adit Khorana, Adv.

Ms. Vishakha, Adv.

Mr. T S Sabarish, Adv.

Dr. Arun Kumar Yadav, Adv.

Ms. Madhavi Divan, A.S.G.

Ms. Sunita Sharma, Adv.

Mr. Shiv Mangal Sharma, Adv.

Mr. C K Sucharita, Adv.

Mr. Amit Sharma (b), Adv.

Mr. Amrish Kumar, AOR

2

Mr. Santosh Krishnan, AOR

Mr. Shaikh Haneef, Adv.

Ms. Deepshikha Sansanwal, Adv.

Ms. Madhvi Divan, A.S.G.

Mr. Shreekant Neelappa Terdal, AOR

Dr. N. Visakamurthy, Adv.

Ms. Sunita Sharma, Adv.

Ms. Seema Bengani, Adv.

Mr. Adit Khorana, Adv.

Ms. Vishakha, Adv.

Mr. T.S.Sabarish, Adv.

Mr. Neeraj Kumar Sharma, Adv.

Mr. Mukesh K Verma, Adv.

Ms. Indira Bhakar, Adv.

Ms. Mrinal Elker Mazumdar, Adv.

Ms. Priyanka Sharma, Adv.

Mr. Prahil Sharma, Adv.

Mr. Harender Singh, Adv.

Mr. Ambuj Saraswat, Adv.

Ms. Diksha Rai, AOR

Ms. Ragini Pandey, Adv.

Ms. Astha Sharma, AOR

Mr. Srisatya Mohanty, Adv.

Mr. Sanjeev Kaushik, Adv.

Ms. Mantika Haryani, Adv.

Mr. Shreyas Awasthi, Adv.

Mr. Himanshu Chakravarty, Adv.

Ms. Ripul Swati Kumari, Adv.

Mr. Bhanu Mishra, Adv.

Mr. Devvrat Singh, Adv.

Ms. Muskan Surana, Adv.

Mr. Abhinav Mukerji, AOR

Mr. Akshay C. Shrivastava, Adv.

Mrs. Bihu Sharma, Adv.

Ms. Pratishtha Vij, Adv.

Ms. Ruchira Gupta, Adv.

Mr. Shishir Deshpande, AOR

Ms. Urvi Kapoor, Adv.

Ms. Harshita Sharma, Adv.

Mr. Deep Narayan Sarkar, Adv.

Ms. Deepanwita Priyanka, AOR

Ms. Swati Ghildiyal, Adv.

Ms. Devyani Bhatt, Adv.

Mr. Ankit Kumar Lal, AOR

Mr. Kumar Anurag Singh, Adv.

3

- Mr. Anando Mukherjee, AOR
- Mr. Shwetank Singh, Adv.
- Ms. Taruna Ardhendumauli Prasad, AOR
- Mr. V. N. Raghupathy, AOR
- Mr. Manendra Pal Gupta, Adv.
- Mr. Dhanesh Ieshdhan, Adv.
- Mr. Varun Varma, Adv.
- Mr. Saurabh Mishra, A.A.G.
- Mr. Nachiketa Joshi, Adv.
- Mr. Sunny Choudhary, AOR
- Mr. Shiv Sagar Tiwari, Adv.
- Mr. Anand Dilip Landge, Adv.
- Mr. Siddharth Dharmadhikari, Adv.
- Mr. Aaditya Aniruddha Pande, AOR
- Mr. Bharat Bagla, Adv.
- Mr. Sourav Singh, Adv.
- Mr. Avijit Mani Tripathi, AOR
- Mr. Shaurya Sahay, Adv.
- Mr. T.k. Nayak, Adv.
- Ms. K. Enatoli Sema, AOR
- Ms. Limayinla Jamir, Adv.
- Mr. Amit Kumar Singh, Adv.
- Ms. Chubalemla Chang, Adv.
- Mr. Prang Newmai, Adv.
- Mr. Tushar Sannu, Adv.
- Mr. Sahil Tagotra, AOR
- Ms. Sharmila Upadhyay, AOR
- Mr. Sarvjit Pratap Singh, Adv.
- Mr. Vinod Ghai, Sr. Adv.
- Mr. Aman Pal, AAG
- Mr. Ajay Pal, AOR
- Mr. Mayank Dahiya, Adv.
- Ms. Ruchi Kohli, AOR
- Mr. T. R. B. Sivakumar, AOR
- Ms. Garima Prasad, Sr. A.A.G.
- Mr. Vishnu Shankar Jain, AOR
- Mr. B.K.Satija, A.A.G.

Dr. Monika Gusain, AOR

Mr. Abhimanyu Tewari, AOR

Ms. Eliza Barr, Adv.

Mrs. Anil Katiyar, AOR

Mr. P. V. Yogeswaran, AOR

Mr. S.C. Verma, Sr. Adv.

Mr. Sumeer Sodhi, AOR

Ms. Tanya Verma, Adv.

Mr. B. K. Satija, A.A.G.

Mr. Himanshu Satija, Adv.

Ms. Himani Bhatnagar, Adv.

Mr. Sanjay Kumar Visen, AOR

Mr. Nirnimesh Dube, AOR

Mr. Siddhesh Kotwal, Adv.

Mr. Nihar Dharmadhikari, Adv.

Ms. Sampriti Baksi, Adv.

Mr. Abhishek Atrey, AOR

Mr. Jatinder Kumar Sethi, D.A.G.

Dr. Abhishek Atrey, Adv.

Ms. Ambika Atrey, Adv.

Mr. Sameer Abhyankar, AOR

Ms. Nishi Sangtani, Adv.

Ms. Vani Vandana Chhetri, Adv.

Mr. Rohit K. Singh, AOR

Mr. Aravindh S., AOR

Mr. Nishe Rajen Shonker, AOR

Mrs. Anu K Joy, Adv.

Mr. Alim Anvar, Adv.

Mrs. Anil Katiyar, AOR

Mr. Jagjit Singh Chhabra, AOR

Mr. Ankit Goel, AOR

Mr. S.. Udaya Kumar Sagar, AOR

Mr. Shree Pal Singh, AOR

Mr. Pukhrambam Ramesh Kumar, AOR

Ms. Anupama Ngangom, Adv.

Mr. Karun Sharma, Adv.

UPON hearing the counsel the Court made the following O R D E R

- Ms Madhavi Divan, Additional Solicitor General, informed the Court, at the outset, that a dashboard has been prepared by the Department of Empowerment of Persons with Disabilities¹ in the Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment².
- A presentation of the dashboard has been made before the Court by Mr Rajesh Yadav, Joint Secretary in MSJE. The dashboard which is titled "Manoashraya", inter alia, contains details of:
 - (i) The total number of States/UTs having government run Rehabilitation Homes³/Halfway Homes⁴;
 - (ii) The intake capacities of these RH/HH (bifurcated between male and female inmates);
 - (iii) Occupancy in the RH/HH; and
 - (iv) Number of persons who are "languishing" in mental health institutions.
- The dashboard contains specific details of the RH/HH, including contact details, number of male and female inmates and a map of the country with locations of these homes and facilities available.

^{1 &}quot;DEPD"

^{2 &}quot;MSJE"

^{3 &}quot;RH"

^{4 &}quot;HH"

6

4 The Union Ministry of Health and Family Welfare⁵ specifically deals with mental

health institutions as a part of its broader remit to cover the area of medical

health.

5 The Court has been apprised of the fact that MoHFW has prepared its own

helpline called tele-MANAS and e-MANAS. There would be a need to integrate

tele-MANAS and e-MANAS with the dashboard "Manoashraya" prepared by MSJE.

6 Since the way forward would require proper collaboration between MoHFW and

MSJE, we request Ms Madhavi Divan to take up the matter at the Secretarial

level in both the Ministries. On the next date of listing, the way forward may be

presented by the Joint Secretaries in both the Ministries.

We clarify that the present proceedings are not intended to be adversarial. The

Court is intending to utilise its position as a facilitator to ensure that the purpose

of having RH and HH is duly fulfilled, particularly, having regard to the large

number of persons who are languishing in mental health institutions.

8 The Court also acknowledges the assistance which has been rendered by Ms

Sejal Pawal, Consultant to the DEPD. We appreciate the presentation which has

been made by the Joint Secretary in MSJE.

9 List the matters on 21 April 2023.

(SANJAY KUMAR-I) DEPUTY REGISTRAR (SAROJ KUMARI GAUR)
ASSISTANT REGISTRAR

"MoHFW"

5