HIGH COURT OF ANDHRA PRADESH AT AMARAVATI

MAIN CASE No. W.P(PIL). No.248 of 2020

PROCEEDING SHEET

Sl. No	DATE	ORDER	OFFICE NOTE
10.	11.10.2023	According to the suggestion made by the	
		learned Amicus Curie, we constitute the	
		following Committee in the first instance with a	
		view to understand the extent of effluent	
		discharge/sewage that is being generated in the	
		city of Vizag and whether the 18 STPs which	
		have been established in the Vizag area are	
		enough to effectively treat the said	
		effluent/sewage.	
		The Committee shall also to determine the	
		functional capacity as against the installed	
		capacity of the STPs and the number of STPs	
		that are required in addition to the existing	
		number with a view to treat the	
		effluent/sewage. The Committee would also	
		determine the places at which the additional	
		sewage/Effluent Treatment Plants are to be	
		located considering not only the present needs	
		of the city of Vizag but keeping in view the	
		demand in future on account of the fact that the	
		city has grown, in population of 17,00,000 in the	
		2011 sensus to approximately 23,00,000 as on	

date.

The following are the members constituted in the Committee:-

- (1) A member to be nominated by the Central Pollution Control Board.
- (2) Nominee of the State Pollution Control Board.
- (3) The Commissioner, Visakhapatnam Metropolitan Region Development Authority (V.M.R.D.A.).

The V.M.R.D.A. shall provide all assistance to the members of the Committee for the purposes of preparation of the reports as envisaged herein above.

We also implead the Central Pollution Control Board as a party respondent and shall figure as respondent No.7 in the array of respondents.

Sri N. Harinath, learned Deputy Solicitor General, waives service for respondent No.7.

We also direct that a tentative amount of Rs.50,000/- (Rupees fifty thousand only) be paid to the Amicus Curie appointed by us by order, dated 20.09.2023. The amount shall be paid by the Visakhapatnam Municipal Corporation.

We also direct all the parties above to make nominations of their respective members within a period of ten (10) days from today and

the report be prepared not later than four (4)		
weeks thereafter.		
List on 08.11.2023.		
DHIRAJ SINGH THAKUR, CJ R.RAGHUNANDAN RAO, J		
AMD		
1	i	1

ı		
ı		
ı		
ı		
ı		
ı		
ı		
ı		
ı		
ı		
ı		
ı		
ı		
ı		
ı		
ı		
ı		
ı		
ı		
ı		
ı		
ı		
ı		
ı		