Top Stories

Dushyant Dave set to lead Supreme Court Bar again

Ashok KM
12 Dec 2015 4:13 AM GMT
Dushyant Dave set to lead Supreme Court Bar again
Your free access to Live Law has expired
To read the article, get a premium account.
    Your Subscription Supports Independent Journalism
Subscription starts from
(For 6 Months)
Premium account gives you:
  • Unlimited access to Live Law Archives, Weekly/Monthly Digest, Exclusive Notifications, Comments.
  • Reading experience of Ad Free Version, Petition Copies, Judgement/Order Copies.
Already a subscriber?

Senior Advocate Dushyant Dave is set to lead Supreme Court Bar Association again. In the election to select Office Bearers and Members of the Executive Committee of SCBA for the years 2015-16, Dave who got 993 votes is reported to have won by a margin of over 400 votes. Shivaji Jadhav who is also a President of the Supreme Court Advocates-on-Record Association came second to Dave.Dave had won by a margin of only 41 votes last time, but for 415 votes this time.

Senior Advocate Dave is known for his scathing and frank criticism of Judiciary. Reportedly during NJAC hearing he had made these remarks ““My Lords should wear a burqa and roam in the court corridors to hear the way lawyers talk about the judges of this court. You will get first-hand account of the rotting justice delivery system. The kind of lawyers who are being appointed as judges is a disgrace. Some of the finest judges were denied (elevation to apex court) and elevation of some of the finest judges was delayed, merely because someone in the collegium did not like them”.

Dave’s comment about the approach of courts towards political and film celebrities assumes importance these days. He had saidIt is a shame how every court is going an extra mile to protect politicians and film stars, and ordinary citizens are deprived of justice.”

Senior Advocate Ajit Kumar Sinha has been elected Vice President. Advocate Gaurav Bhatia and Sandeep Singh has been elected to the post of Secretary and Joint Secretary respectively.  Advocates Amit Anand Tiwari and Anurag Pandey are the new Treasurer and Joint Treasurer respectively.

Next Story