HNLU, Raipur Wins “The First JLU National Moot Court Competition” and Christ University, Bangalore Grabs Second Spot

Simran Sahni

21 Feb 2017 5:28 AM GMT

  • HNLU, Raipur Wins “The First JLU National Moot Court Competition” and Christ University, Bangalore Grabs Second Spot
    After the grand opening of “The Jagran Lakecity University Moot Court Competition” by Mr. Ram Jethmalani, the second day saw 40 participating teams who contested in the prelims of the competition out of which 8 teams qualified for the quarter-finals.

    Renowned personalities from the legal fraternity sat as judges to evaluate the performances of the teams.

    In the valedictory ceremony on the 19th of February 2017, Justice K.G. Balakrishnan (Former Judge, Supreme Court of India and Former Chairman, National Human Rights Commission), Justice Ved Prakash Sharma (Judge, M.P. High Court, Indore Bench) presented the winners’ trophy and cash prize of 1.5 Lacs to the HNLU Raipur team.

    Mr. V. Sridharan, Senior Advocate and founder of the famous law firm Laxmikumaran Sridharan and Mr. Vipin Jain, Senior Advocate and co-founder of TSC Legal, Mumbai presented the runners-up with trophy and cash prize of 1 Lac.

    Prof. Dr. B.P. Panda, Vice Chancellor, MNLU, Mumbai, presented the award of Best Speaker, Mr. Satya Prakash, Legal Editor, Hindustan Times, presented the award of Best Memorial while Best Researcher award was given away by Mr. R. Venkatramani, Senior Advocate, Supreme Court of India. The cash prize for these awards was Rs. 25,000 each.

    Four teams i.e. Christ University, Bangalore, Hidayatullah National Law University, Raipur, School of Excellence in Law, Dr. Ambedkar Law University, Chennai, and campus law centre I, Delhi university contested in the semi-finals. The grand finale of the competition was between Christ University,Banglore and HNLU, Raipur.

    In the valedictory ceremony, Justice Balakrishna while congratulating the participants motivated them to join the prestigious profession of law. Justice Ved Prakash Sharma commended the students on their efforts and inspired them to take full advantage of the intellectual atmosphere of law education which his generation was not fortunate enough to get. He also urged the students to focus their study on the emerging sectors like Cyber Law, Competition law, Corporate Law, etc. Mr. V. Sridharan and Mr. Vipin Jain prompted the students to specialize in the potentially lucrative field of GST laws which would consequently help them in establishing a unique identity in the industry. Dr. Bhavani Prasad Panda shed light on the ever-increasing demands in the field of law and legal education. Mr. Satya Prakash complimented the organizers on holding such a grand event and motivated them that such events should be held frequently. Chancellor of the University Mr. Hari Mohan Gupta emphasized the role of these events play in the intellectual development of the youth and expressed similar views to those of Mr. Prakash.

    University’s Chancellor Mr. Hari Mohan Gupta, Vice Chancellor Prof. (Dr.) Anoop Swarup and Dean (Academics) Prof. (Dr.) C.A. Gurudath were also present.

    Teams from some of the renowned institutes of the country participated in the event which includes NLSIU (Bangalore), NUJS, (Kolkata), HNLU (Raipur), RGNUL (Patiala), NLU (Odisha), MNLU (Mumbai), NLIU (Bhopal), NUALS (Kochi), TNNLS (Tamil Nadu) Amity University, Nirma University, Christ University, GLC (Mumbai), Symbiosis Law School, UPES (Dehradun) and many  more universities.
    Next Story