Top Stories

Justice Jagdish Singh Khehar Will Be the Next Chief Justice Of India

LiveLaw News Network
6 Dec 2016 1:35 PM GMT
Justice Jagdish Singh Khehar Will Be the Next Chief Justice Of India
Your free access to Live Law has expired
To read the article, get a premium account.
    Your Subscription Supports Independent Journalism
Subscription starts from
(For 6 Months)
Premium account gives you:
  • Unlimited access to Live Law Archives, Weekly/Monthly Digest, Exclusive Notifications, Comments.
  • Reading experience of Ad Free Version, Petition Copies, Judgement/Order Copies.
Already a subscriber?

Justice Jagdish Singh Khehar will be the 44th Chief Justice of India. He will be sworn in as CJI on January 4, 2017.

Chief Justice of India Justice Thakur has reportedly recommended the name of Justice Khehar for the appointment.

He would remain in office from January 4, 2017 till August 4, 2017.

He assumed office as a Judge in the  Supreme Court on September 13, 2011.

Justice Khehar led the constitution bench which held the NJAC Act unconstitutional.

He was a member of the Judges Inquiry Committee for investigating the grounds on which the removal of Mr. Justice P.D. Dinakaran, Chief Justice of the Karnataka High Court, has been sought.

Last week the Supreme Court collegium has reportedly decided to defer recommending names for appointment of Judges to the Supreme Court, till Justice J.S. Khehar assumes office on January 4, 2017.

The collegium, after CJI Thakur’s retirement, would comprise of Justice Khehar, Justice Dipak Misra, Justice Jasti Chelameswar, Justice Ranjan Gogoi and Justice Madan B. Lokur.

Read his detailed profile Here

This article has been made possible because of financial support from Independent and Public-Spirited Media Foundation.

Next Story