NLUD Wins 29th Manfred Lachs Space Law Moot Court Competition

Aasavri Rai

31 Oct 2020 7:01 AM GMT

  • NLUD Wins 29th Manfred Lachs Space Law Moot Court Competition

    The National Law University Delhi team comprising of Abhishek Jain, Anmol Dhawan and Shubh Arora has been declared the winner of the World Finals of the 29th Manfred Lachs Space Law Moot Court Competition on October 23, 2020.

    The team also won the Lee Love Award for the Best Team.

    The NLU Delhi team faced the University of Vienna in the finals and was declared the winner by a unanimous decision of a bench comprising three sitting judges of the International Court of Justice (ICJ). The judges for the finals were Judge Peter Tomka of Slovakia, Judge Joan E. Donoghue of the United States and Judge Kirill Gevorgian of Russia.

    The Lachs Moot is named in the honour of Judge Manfred H. Lachs, a Polish diplomat and one of the longest serving judges of ICJ and is organized by the International Institute of Space Law (IISL), Paris.

    The world finals were held as part of IISL's Annual Colloquium, which is itself a part of the International Astronautical Congress, the biggest congregation of dignitaries and professionals engaged in various facets of space exploration, held in a different continents every year. This year's web edition of Congress saw the signing of the Artemis Accords concerning the exploration of the moon.

    Prof. Srikrishna Deva Rao, Vice Chancellor, National Law University Delhi congratulates the team for this achievement and especially for doing it in the background of COVID-19, where the traditional format was affected and the team had to adapt and prepare for the online format and did not have as many resources as they would ordinarily have on campus.

    Next Story