RGNUL Holds 4th Convocation, Confers Degrees On 465 Students

aasavri Rai

28 Aug 2018 7:08 AM GMT

  • RGNUL Holds 4th Convocation, Confers Degrees On 465 Students

    Rajiv Gandhi National University of Law (RGNUL), Punjab, held its 4th annual Convocation on Saturday. As many as 340 B.A. LL.B (Hons.), 119 LL.M and six Ph.D. degrees were awarded during the ceremony. Hon’ble Justice Arjan Kumar Sikri, judge, Supreme Court of India, was the Chief Guest.

    Hon’ble Justice Uday Umesh Lalit, judge, Supreme Court of India, and visitor, RGNUL, presided over the function. Justice Mohan Peiris, former Chief Justice of Sri Lanka; Justice Ajay Kumar Mittal, Judge, Punjab & Haryana High Court; Justice Surya Kant, Judge, Punjab & Haryana High Court; Prof. (Dr.) Ranbir Singh, Vice Chancellor, NLU, Delhi; Prof. (Dr.) V. Vijayakumar, Director, NLIU, Bhopal; Prof. (Dr.) Paramjit S. Jaswal, Vice-Chancellor, RGNUL, Prof. (Dr.) G.I.S. Sandhu, Registrar, RGNUL and Prof. (Dr.) Anand Pawar, Controller of Examinations, RGNUL, graced the occasion. Hon’ble Justice Krishna Murari, Chief Justice, Punjab & Haryana High Court and Chancellor, RGNUL, conferred the degrees on the graduates, postgraduates and Ph.D. candidates.

    Prof. (Dr.) Paramjit S. Jaswal, Vice-Chancellor, RGNUL, welcomed the guests and presented the annual report of the institute. Quoting former President APJ Abdul Kalam, he said, “Life and time are the best teachers.”

    Justice Arjan Kumar Sikri delivered the convocation address. Justice Sikri exhorted the students to have a vision and mission for the realization of their dreams. “Just as different countries are in different time-zones, people are governed by different timings for success and recognition,” Justice Sikri said. “In a knowledge-based economy, students must remain a learner throughout their lives,” he added. He reminded the students of ‘inherent knowledge in man’, as explained by Swami Vivekananda. He also advised the students to maintain a work-life balance, to give time to family, to respect parents and teachers and to inculcate good hobbies. He exhorted them to tap their potentialities, develop the ability to think clearly and to become instruments of change in the society.

    As many as 61 meritorious students received special medals, (instituted and endowed) for outstanding performance in eleven different categories, academic and co-curricular activities. Mehak Puri (LL.M. 2015-16), Ms. Jagriti (LL.M. 2016-17) and Ms. Vibhuti Jaswal (LL.M. 2017-18) were awarded RGNUL Medal of Excellence, Surana and Surana Medal for Excellence and University Medals for Academic Excellence. Ms. Jagriti and Ms. Vibhuti Jaswal received Late Sh. C.B. Sharma & Smt. S.D. Sharma Medal for Best Girl Student for the academic sessions 2016-17 and 2017-18, respectively. Mr. Arpit Sharma, Ms. Garima Saxena, Ms. Ishita Sharma, Ms. Gurleen Kaur, Ms. Dewangana Chillar and Ms. Simranjeet Kaur (LL.M) received RGNUL Medal of Excellence in diverse specializations for their respective batches. RGNUL Medal of Excellence for B.A.LL.B. (Hons) was received by Mr. Dharav Shah, Ms. Shanya Ruhela, Ms. Kirandeep Kaur (batch 2011-16), Ms. Isha Singh, Ms. Nikisha Hada (batch 2012-17), Ms. Harshita Singh (batch 2013-18).

    Justice Kesho Ram Passey Memorial Medal and Aparajita Paul Memorial Medal were bagged by Mr. Dharav Shah, Ms. Isha Singh and Ms. Vrinda Pareek. Mr. Divyanshu Mittal also received Aparajita Paul Memorial Medal. Ms. Arpana (batch 2011-16), Ms. Divya Godara (batch 2012-17) and Ms. Harshita Singh (batch 2013-18) were given Pavani Satyanarayanamma Medal for Academic Excellence. Ms. Shanya Ruhela, Ms. Divya Godara, and Ms. Vrinda Pareek received Mohan Law House Medal. K.T.S. Tulsi Medal was awarded to Ms. Aishwarya Malik, Mr. Shubham Vijay (batch 2011-16), Ms. Divya Godara (batch 2012-17), Ms. Harshita Singh and Mr. Mohit Khandelwal (batch 2013-18). Chancellor’s Medal was awarded to Mr. Dharav Shah (batch 2011-16), Ms. Isha Singh (batch 2012-17), and Ms. Vrinda Pareek (batch 2013-18). Vice-Chancellor’s Medal was received by Ms. Arpana, Ms. Aishwarya Malik (batch 2011-16); Ms. Shivani Bhatnagar, Ms. Isha Singh and Ms. Srishti Bose (batch 2012-17); Ms. Harshita Singh and Mohit Khandelwal (batch 2013-18).

    Next Story