Law School Corner

Rishika Sehgal from NLU-Delhi accorded the Rhodes Scholarship

Sukriti Singh
30 Nov 2015 4:20 PM GMT
Rishika Sehgal from NLU-Delhi accorded the Rhodes Scholarship
Your free access to Live Law has expired
To read the article, get a premium account.
    Your Subscription Supports Independent Journalism
Subscription starts from
(For 6 Months)
Premium account gives you:
  • Unlimited access to Live Law Archives, Weekly/Monthly Digest, Exclusive Notifications, Comments.
  • Reading experience of Ad Free Version, Petition Copies, Judgement/Order Copies.
Already a subscriber?

Student of 2015 batch from National Law University, Delhi, Rishika Sehgal has been awarded the prestigious Rhodes Scholarship. With this she became the first student from the institution to receive this scholarship. Last year Ms Mansi Sood from National Law School of India University, Bangalore and Ms. Sanya Samtani from NALSAR University of Law were awarded the same.

The Rhodes Scholarships are postgraduate awards for supporting the exceptional students from around the world to study at the University of Oxford. Established in the will of Cecil Rhodes, the Rhodes is the oldest and perhaps the most prestigious international scholarship programme in the world, which aims to nurture public-spirited leaders for the world's future. Every year, there are five Scholarships available for India to enable outstanding students - chosen on the basis of exceptional intellect, character, leadership, and commitment to service - to study at the University of Oxford. The first Indian Rhodes Scholars took up residence in Oxford in 1947, and since that time nearly two hundred Indians have been awarded this prestigious scholarship.

The registrar of National Law University, Delhi Prof (Dr.) G.S Bajpai also expressed his joy and congratulated Rishika for her achievement and bringing laurels to the university. He was quoted as saying, “In the field of law, there are only two scholarships awarded by Rhodes every year and Ms. Rishika has become the first student from NLU Delhi to receive this rare honour.”

Next Story