News Updates

SC Collegium Recommends 5 Additional Judges For Permanent Judgeship At 2 High Courts [Read Recommendations]

Apoorva Mandhani
8 March 2018 10:46 AM GMT
SC Collegium Recommends 5 Additional Judges For Permanent Judgeship At 2 High Courts [Read Recommendations]
Your free access to Live Law has expired
To read the article, get a premium account.
    Your Subscription Supports Independent Journalism
Subscription starts from
(For 6 Months)
Premium account gives you:
  • Unlimited access to Live Law Archives, Weekly/Monthly Digest, Exclusive Notifications, Comments.
  • Reading experience of Ad Free Version, Petition Copies, Judgement/Order Copies.
Already a subscriber?

The Supreme Court collegium has recommended appointment of four Additional Judges of Allahabad High Court as permanent Judges.

In a meeting held on Tuesday, the collegium comprising Chief Justice of India Dipak Misra, Justice J. Chelameswar and Justice Ranjan Gogoi recommended the following four Judges for permanent Judgeship:

  1. Justice Ashok Kumar,

  2. Justice Vivek Chaudhary,

  3. Justice Saumitra Dayal Singh, and

  4. Justice Akhilesh Chandra Sharma.

The collegium also recommended that Justice Songkhupchung Serto, Additional Judge of the Manipur High Court, be made permanent. It clarified that he would continue at Gauhati High Court, where he is presently functioning on transfer. The recommendation was directed to be processed expeditiously as Justice Serto's term is set to expire on 13 March.

The collegium, however, postponed deliberation on the Department of Justice's recommendation to transfer a Judge from another High Court to Manipur High Court. It observed, "We have also taken note of the observations of Department of Justice made in the file with regard to proposal for transfer of some other High Court Judge to Manipur High Court in view of depleted strength of Judges in that High Court. The proposal for transfer, in terms of the Memorandum of Procedure, would be considered by the Collegium comprising the Chief Justice of India and four senior-most Judges of the Supreme Court, in due course of time."

Read the Recommednations Here


Next Story