Cover Story

SC reserves judgment in NJAC case

Live Law News Network
15 July 2015 3:00 PM GMT
SC reserves judgment in NJAC case
Your free access to Live Law has expired
To read the article, get a premium account.
    Your Subscription Supports Independent Journalism
Subscription starts from
(For 6 Months)
Premium account gives you:
  • Unlimited access to Live Law Archives, Weekly/Monthly Digest, Exclusive Notifications, Comments.
  • Reading experience of Ad Free Version, Petition Copies, Judgement/Order Copies.
Already a subscriber?

The Supreme Court on Wednesday reserved its judgment in the National Judicial Appointments Commission (NJAC) case and stated that the interim order would continue to be in effect till the verdict is finally given.

"The arguments and counter arguments were heard by the Supreme Court for more than 30 hearings. After Hearing the arguments, the five judges bench has reserved the ordered and the verdict has been reserved today. And has also passed and interim order to the effect that the earlier interim order which was passed relating to the additional appointments, that the period fixed for interim order was fixed for three months. The court has said that the interim order would continue till the verdict is given by the court," Advocate R K Kapoor told media persons.

In April 7, a three-judge bench of the apex court had referred the matter to a five-judge Constitution Bench, the batch of petitions challenging the validity of NJAC Act to replace the two-decade-old Collegium System.

Under the old Collegium System, five top judges of the apex court used to recommend the transfer and elevation of judges to the Supreme Court and the 24 High Courts.

The NJAC was signed into an Act by President Pranab Mukherjee on December 31, 2014.

According to the new act, two eminent persons will be nominated to the NJAC as members by the committee consisting of the Prime Minister, the Chief Justice of India and the Leader of Opposition in Lok Sabha or the leader of single largest Opposition party.

The eminent persons will be nominated for a period of three years and will not be eligible for renomination.

Next Story