HSF–NLU Delhi, International Negotiation Competition 2018 [7th-9th Sept; New Delhi]

aasavri Rai

29 March 2018 3:46 PM GMT

  • HSF–NLU Delhi, International Negotiation Competition 2018 [7th-9th Sept; New Delhi]

    The fifth edition of the International Negotiation Competition, jointly organised by Herbert Smith Freehills LLP and National Law University, Delhi, will be held at NLU Delhi from September 7th to 9th.

    Started in 2014, this invite-only competition is the first of its kind in India. It brings together students from top law universities across the globe to participate in negotiations based on simulations that closely imitate an international environment.

    The negotiation simulations consist of a common set of facts known to all participants and confidential information known only to the participants representing a particular side. Teams submit a negotiation plan prior to the competition and then discuss these plans with the other party in negotiation sessions that last for 80 to 90 minutes.

    In addition to the valuable experience of interacting with teams and professionals from various countries, the competition has many rewards. At the end of the competition, the Best Negotiation Team is awarded a cash prize of GBP 1000 (INR 90,000 approx.), while the runners-up receive a cash prize of GBP 500 (INR 45,000 approx.).

    The best negotiator and the team with the best negotiation plan receive a cash prize of GBP 100 (INR 9,000 approx) each. The team which best represents the spirit of negotiation through their communication skills receives the ‘Spirit of the Competition’ award and a cash prize of GBP 100 (INR 9,000 approx).

    The 2017 edition of the competition saw the University of Technology, Sydney, emerge as the overall winner, while the University of Melbourne bagged second place Mr Jack Fogl from the University of Technology, Sydney was the best negotiator and National Law University Odisha won the award for the best negotiation plan. Additionally, the team from Obafemi Awolowo University, Nigeria received the Spirit of the Competition Award by popular vote.

    Over the years, the other winners have been:

    • 2016 (third edition) – University of Sunshine Coast (Winners), Australian National University (Runners-Up)

    • 2015 (second edition) – University of Cambridge (Winners), Deakin University (Runners-Up)

    • 2014 (first edition) – Australian National University (Winners), GNLU Gandhinagar (Runners-Up)


    • 15th June 2018: Release of the problems/negotiation simulations

    • 15th July 2018: Deadline for seeking clarifications

    • 1st August 2018: Submission of the negotiation plan

    • 7th September 2018: Registration and welcome address

    • 7th to 9th September 2018: Preliminary and advanced rounds

    • 9th September 2018: Finals and awards ceremony

    The brochure for the event can be found here.

    Next Story