National Legislation Drafting Competition, 2017:School of Law,Christ University

manav malhotra

13 July 2017 7:43 AM GMT

  • National Legislation Drafting Competition, 2017:School of Law,Christ University
    School of Law, Christ University is organizing its Decennial Celebrations from 11th to 17th September2017. As a part of the celebrations, the 'Public Policy and Governance Committee' is organizing a National Legislation Drafting Competition 2017 on September 15, 2017, for which the participants are expected to draft a bill on the topic “Prison Reforms”.

    Through this competition, the Committee for Public Policy and Governance, SLCU, seeks to promote the participation of students in the political processes and democracy by actively engaging in discussion and policy drafting on contemporary issues that are yet to be taken up by the Government.

    Rules of the Competition

    1. Eligibility:Participation in this event is open only to undergraduate students studying law, from any law college recognised by the Bar Council of India.

    2. Registration:All teams must register only through their respective institutions, and are required to send the completed Registration Form to by 23rdJuly, 2017. Teams are also required to pay the Registration Fee of Rs.1500/- by way of electronic transfer or Demand Draft on or before 26th July, 2017, in order to confirm participation.

    1. Payment Details Online Transfer, Demand Draft

    2. Topic :The topic for the competition is ‘The Prison Reforms Bill, 2017’.

    Submission Rules:The formatting specifications are:

    1. Maximum word limit: 10,000 words (including footnotes)

    2. In addition to the proposed legislation document, every team must include an Author’s Note (maximum 2 pages) as part of their submission. The note should summarise the proposed legislation and highlight the salient features.

    3. All Teams must send electronic copies of their legislative draft and Author’s Note in “.docx” (Microsoft Word) and “.pdf” formats by email to by 11:59 PM on 20thAugust, 2017. A total of four attachments are required with every mail.

    General Rules:

    1. All submissions will undergo strict online plagiarism checks. Any Submission found to be plagiarised will be disqualified.

    2. The last date for seeking clarifications is 28th July, 2017. All clarifications will be published by 31st July, 2017 on the Committee for Public Policy and Governance page-

    Short listing and Prizes:

    • The Best Team - Cash Prize of Rs. 15,000/- and Certificates.

    • The Runner Up Team - Cash Prize of Rs. 10,000/- and Certificates.

    • The Second Runner Up Team - Cash Prize of Rs. 5,000/- and Certificates.

    Important Dates:

    • Final Date of Electronic Submission of Registration Form- 23rd July 2017

    • Final Date of Submission of Registration Fees - 26th July 2017

    • Final Date of Submission of Legislative Drafts - 20th August 2017

    • Announcement of Results for Panel Discussion - 4th September 2017

    • Final Panel Discussion and Valedictory Ceremony - 15th September 2017

    For any further enquiries, contact:

    Student Convenors:
    Vignesh Shanmugam +91 9945831565 or Anisha Gupta +91 9916676294
    Faculty Coordinator: Dr. Achyuta Nanda Mishra + 91 9581560591

    Click Here to Download the Background Note, Rules, Registration Form
    Next Story