Lloyd Law College Organised COVID-19 Pandemic National Online Moot Court Competition, 2020

Aasavri Rai

12 May 2020 4:48 AM GMT

  • Lloyd Law College Organised COVID-19 Pandemic National Online Moot Court Competition, 2020

    COVID-19 Pandemic National Online Moot Court Competition 2020 was organized by Lloyd Law College, Greater Noida from 30th April to 3rd May 2020. This was a unique competition first where the entire competition took place online and completely paperless.

    The competition was inaugurated by the Hon'ble Mr. Justice Mukeshkumar Rasikbhai Shah, Judge, Supreme Court of India. In his inaugural address, Justice Shah highlighted the legal complexities pertaining to unprecedented Covid-19 global pandemic and compared the situation with a war.

    Mr. Srimanto Sen, Secretary, Bar Council of India graced the occasion as the guest of honour. The other eminent luminaries included Dr. Anjali Mittal, Dean, Department of Law, Chaudhary Charan Singh University along with other dignitaries, and academicians from law.

    108 teams from 57 different law colleges across India had registered for the competition and 24 best teams participated in oral rounds. Some of the colleges that participated were NALSAR-Hyderabad, NUJS-Kolkata, GNLU-Ahmedabad, HNLU-Raipur, RMNLU-Lucknow, CLC & LC-I Delhi University, DSNLU-Vishakhapatnam, NLUJA-Assam, NLU-Odisha, NUSRL-Ranchi, NUALS Kochi, Amity Law School, Delhi, AIL-Mohali, IIL-Indore, KIITU-Bhubaneshwar, New Law College-BVP-Pune, NMIMS-Navi Mumbai, O.P. Jindal Global University, Sonipat, SOEL-Chennai, CHRIST University-Bengaluru, SLS-NOIDA, SLS-Pune, UPES-Dehradun and 6 GLC's.

    The final rounds took place on 3rd May between Amity Law School, Delhi and School of Excellence in Law, Chennai, with SOEL emerging as the winner. Mr. Shivek Sahai Student of Amity Law school Delhi stood out as the winner and was awarded with Rs. 11,000/- and the E-certificate. Thereafter, the following key awards were presented: Ms. Mansi Sethia Jain student of School of Excellence in Law, Chennai won the Runner Up Award with a prize money of Rs. 8,000/- and E-certificate, the Best Student Advocate Award with a cash prize of Rs. 5,000/- and E-certificate and the Best Memorial Award with a prize money of Rs. 5,000/- and e-certificate. Ms. Akankhsya Bhattacharjee student of Damodar Sanjivayya National Law University, Vishakhapatnam stood Second Runner Up, Mr. Ujjwal Sharma student of O.P. Jindal Global University, Sonipat was the third runner up whereas Mr. Darpreet Singh of Lloyd Law College and Mr. Aaryyan Aathreya from School of Law, SASTRA University, Chennai were awarded with Spirit of Lloyd.

    Next Story