News Updates

4 New Judicial Members Appointed To NGT [Read Order]

28 Feb 2020 1:21 PM GMT
4 New Judicial Members Appointed To NGT [Read Order]
Your free access to Live Law has expired
To read the article, get a premium account.
    Your Subscription Supports Independent Journalism
Subscription starts from
(For 6 Months)
Premium account gives you:
  • Unlimited access to Live Law Archives, Weekly/Monthly Digest, Exclusive Notifications, Comments.
  • Reading experience of Ad Free Version, Petition Copies, Judgement/Order Copies.
Already a subscriber?

The Appointments Committee of the Cabinet on Thursday cleared the proposal to appoint four Judicial Members to the National Green Tribunal.

They are:

1. Justice Keloth Puthen Pura Jyotindranath

2. Justice Prakash Chandra Jaiswal

3. Justice Sheo Kumar Singh

4. Justice Vinod Goel

With these appointments, the number of judicial members in NGT has risen to eight, including the Chairperson.

Justice Jyotindranath is a former judge of the Kerala High Court. He enrolled as an Advocate in 1986 and was appointed as a District Judge in December 2001. He was appointed as an Additional Judge of the Kerala High Court in April 2015 and was made permanent in 2017.

Justice Prakash Chandra is a former judge of the Patna High Court. He was enrolled as an Advocate in the Bar Council Uttar Pradesh in 1980. He joined the Bihar Superior Judicial Services as Additional District and Sessions Judge in 1997 and was appointed as the District Judge in the year 2006. He also served as Registrar (Administration) and Registrar General of Patna High Court. He got elevated as Additional Judge of the Patna High Court in May 2017 and retired there from in December 2019.

Justice Sheo Kumar Singh is former judge of the Allahabad high court. He obtained his law degree in 1978 and joined Judicial Services in 1984 as a District Judge. He also erved as the Registrar (Judicial) at the Supreme Court of India and Registrar General at the Allahabad High Court before elevation as High Court Judge in 2016.

Justice Vinod Goel is a former judge of the Delhi High Court. He enrolled as an Advocate with the Bar Council of Punjab & Haryana in 1982. He joined the Delhi Higher Judicial Service on in 1997. In January 2015, he was deputed as the Registrar General of the Delhi High Court. He was elevated as a Judge of the Delhi High Court in November 2016 and retired from his post in August 2019
[Read Order]

Next Story