Top Stories

Ten Delhi University Law Graduates Among SC Judges Now; Four Were Batchmates

20 Sep 2019 10:40 AM GMT
Ten Delhi University Law Graduates Among SC Judges Now; Four Were Batchmates
Your free access to Live Law has expired
To read the article, get a premium account.
    Your Subscription Supports Independent Journalism
Subscription starts from
(For 6 Months)
Premium account gives you:
  • Unlimited access to Live Law Archives, Weekly/Monthly Digest, Exclusive Notifications, Comments.
  • Reading experience of Ad Free Version, Petition Copies, Judgement/Order Copies.
Already a subscriber?

It is a matter of pride for Campus Law Centre, Delhi University more nearly one-third of the Supreme Court judges (ten out of thirty four) are its alumni.

With the notification of appointments of Justices Ravindra Bhat and Hrishikesh Roy as SC judges, the number of law graduates from Campus Law Centre, Delhi University in the SC bench has become nine.

The other Supreme Court judges graduated from Delhi University are;

CJI Ranjan Gogi, Justices R F Nariman, D Y Chandrachud, S K Kaul, Navin Sinha, Deepak Gupta and Indu Malhotra and Justice Sanjiv Khanna.

CJI Gogoi, Justice Nariman and Deepak Gupta completed law education from DU in 1978. Justice Navin Sinha completed LL.B degree from DU in 1979.

Justices Chandrachud, S K Kaul, Ravindra Bhat and Hrishikesh Roy are class mates of the 1982 batch of CLC.

Justice Indu Malhotra received LLB degree from DU in 1983.

Justice Sanjiv Khanna who enrolled as a Lawyer in 1983 also graduated from DU.

Former judges Justices M B Lokur and A K Sikri were also products of Delhi University.

Though hailing from different parts of the country- north, south, west and the east - these judges had their legal education in Delhi. This is a reflection of Delhi's versatility and cultural diversity.

The Faculty of Law, Delhi University was established in 1924. The then Vice-Chancellor of the University of Delhi, and himself a great lawyer, jurist, and educationist, Dr. Hari Singh Gour was the first Dean of the Faculty of Law.

It is situated in the University of Delhi's North Campus in Maurice Nagar, and is surrounded by a host of other academic institutions such as Hansraj College, Daulat Ram College, Miranda House, St. Stephen's College, Delhi, Ramjas College, Hindu College, Delhi School of Economics, and the Faculty of Management Studies. The department has more than 130 teachers and about 7000 students at present including LL.B., LL.M., and Ph.D. students.

[The earlier version of the story had omitted to mention Justice Sanjiv Khanna. The mistake is regretted]

Next Story