Editors Pick

26 Retired HC Judges Designated As Senior Advocates

Ashok KM
13 Sep 2016 4:31 AM GMT
26 Retired HC Judges Designated As Senior Advocates
Your free access to Live Law has expired
To read the article, get a premium account.
    Your Subscription Supports Independent Journalism
Subscription starts from
(For 6 Months)
Premium account gives you:
  • Unlimited access to Live Law Archives, Weekly/Monthly Digest, Exclusive Notifications, Comments.
  • Reading experience of Ad Free Version, Petition Copies, Judgement/Order Copies.
Already a subscriber?

In a full court meeting held last month, the Supreme Court designated 26 retired judges of various high courts as senior advocates.

Following are the retired judges of various high courts across the country who have been made senior advocates with effect from August 31, 2016: Uma Nath Singh, Satish Chandra, Ashim Kumar Banerjee, K.C. Bhanu, Ravindra Singh, B. Chandra Kumar, Anil Kumar, Subash Chandra Jha, Kailash Ghambhir, K.C. Puri, Arvind Kumar, Bharat Bhushan Prasoon, Kamal Mehta, Sunil Hali, B.D. Rathi, Kamal Mehta, A.K. Rajan, Sharnbhoo Singh, Hasnain Massodi, Dharnidhar Jha, Vijayeshwar Narayan Sinha, V.R. Kingaonkar, Ishrat Masroor Quddusi, S.D. Anand, Bana Seshasayana Reddy, Virendra Vikrarn Singh and J.M. Malik.

Section 16 of the Advocates Act, 1961, states that there shall be two classes of advocates, namely senior advocates and other advocates. A lawyer, with his consent, may be designated as senior advocate if the Supreme Court or a high court is of that opinion that by virtue of his ability, [standing at the Bar or special knowledge or experience in law] he is deserving of such distinction.

Next Story