58th Edition of Philip C. Jessup International Moot Court Competition- India Round inaugurated at Amity

Aishwarya Dhakarey

28 Jan 2017 8:32 AM GMT

  • 58th Edition of Philip C. Jessup International Moot Court Competition- India Round inaugurated at Amity
    Amity Law School, Delhi (affiliated to Guru Govind Singh Indraprastha University) in association with Surana & Surana is currently hosting the 58th edition of India Rounds of Philip C. Jesssup International Moot Court Competition. The competition will conclude on January 29th, 2017. The participants for this prestigious competition this year include thirty-two teams from The Tamil Nadu Dr. Ambedkar Law University- School of excellence in Law, Jindal Global Law School,  ILS Law College, National Law University, Odisha, National Law Institute University, Bhopal, West Bengal National University of Judicial Sciences, Government Law College, Mumbai, National Law School of India University, Bangalore, Rajiv Gandhi National University of Law, Patiala, Christ University, Bangalore, Nirma University of Science and Technology, Ahmedabad,  Hidayatullah National Law University, Raipur, Gujarat National Law University, Gandhingar, SASTRA University of Law, UPES, Dehradun, Chanakya National Law University, Patna, USLLS, Guru Govind Singh Indraprastha University, National Law University, Jodhpur, Symbiosis Law School, Pune,  IFIM Law College, Bangalore, Symbiosis Law School, Noida, Kalinga Institute of Industrial Technology, Tamil Nadu National Law University, National Law University, Delhi, Glocal University, Saharanpur, Raffles University, Neemrana, NALSAR, Hyderabad, Amity Law School, Noida, Bangalore Institute of Legal Studies, National University of Advanced Legal Studies, Kochi, Kerala Law Academy, Thiruvananthapuram, and Damodaran Sanjivayya National Law University, Visakhapatnam.

    The inaugural event officially began on 27th January with the team registrations starting at 2:30 PM. The Chairman of Law Commission of India and former Judge of Supreme Court Justice Dr. B. S. Chauhan; Mr. Narinder Singh, Chairman of International Law Commission, Genenva; Dr. Pinky Anand, Sr. Advocate and Additional Solicitor General of India; Dr. Vinod Surana, CEO and Partner, Surana & Surana International Attorneys; Dr. Ashok K. Chauhan, Founder President, Ritanand Baldev Education Foundation & President, Amity Law School, Delhi and Prof. (Dr.) Balvinder Shukla, Vice Chancellor, Amity University, Uttar Pradesh graced the occasion with their presence in the evening around 4pm.

    The inaugural ceremony began with fervour playing the National anthem. The student conveners Tarang Aggrawal and Ashita Alag delivered the introductory speech. The college choir also presented a beautiful rendition of Saraswati Vandana which was followed by lighting of the ceremonial lamp by the revered guests. Soon after this, the Director, Amity Law School, Delhi Dr. D. K. Bandopadhyay welcomed all the guests and the participants. He further thanked  Surana & Surana International Attorneys for associating with Amity Law School, Delhi and providing an opportunity to organise this prestigious event.

    Dr. Vinod Surana, CEO and Partner of Surana & Surana delievers then rose to the podium to deliver his address. He spoke about the competition that Jessup always focused on the emerging trends in International Law so that the participants could learn how to deal with the emerging problems. Dignitaries and esteemed guests like Dr. Pinky Annad, Sr. Advocate and Additional Solicitor General of India, Mr. Narinder Singh, Chairman of Internationa Law Commission  and honourable Justice B. S. Chauhan, Chairman of the Law Commission of India threw light on the significance of moots and further conveyed their best wishes to the participating students.  Not only this, Justice Chauhan, in particular, addressing the audience, said that India has always followed the spirit of 'Vasudhev Kutumbakam' - The world is one family and this is what Public International Law is based on.

    Not only this, the latter part of the event saw esteemed guests along with Ms. Lesly A. Benn, Executive Director ILSA launching the fifth volume of ALSD Student Journal.  As for today, draw of lots has been done to decide the matchups for the preliminary rounds and memorials have been exchanged. The top 8 teams shall break into the Quarter-Finals which will take place tomorrow. The Semi-Finals and Finals will also be held tomorrow. The qualifying teams for the world rounds will be finally announced on 29th January, 2017 at the valedictory ceremony due to be held tomorrow.

    Next Story