GNLU Wins 16th Raj Anand Moot Court Competition

aasavri Rai

30 Aug 2018 9:35 AM GMT

  • GNLU Wins 16th Raj Anand Moot Court Competition

    The 16th Raj Anand Moot Court Competition was held in collaboration with Vidya Intellectual Property Foundation at Indian Habitat Centre in New Delhi on Saturday. This annual competition was started in the year 1998 and focusses on the subject of intellectual property.

    This year’s topic was on the interface between competition law and intellectual property while focusing on patent licensing of life-saving drugs.

    The Moot Court Competition was graced by many eminent personalities from the legal fraternity, including judges of Delhi High Court. Hon’ble Justices (Mr.) Ravindra Bhat, the Chief Guest of the competition, and (Mr.) C Hari Shankar, the Guest of Honour, inaugurated the event. Hon’ble Justice Bhat gave the students a brief peek into his mind with a small speech, enlightening them about his experience on the interface between IP laws and competition law. The event was also graced by the presence of Hon’ble Justices (Mr.) JR Midha and (Mr.) Vibhu Bakhru.

    The semi-final rounds were judged by noteworthy personalities from various industries and institutions—Vaibhav Gaggar, Yogesh Pai, Chitra Iyer, Navita Chaubal, Nishant Sharma and Samita Choudhary.

    The finalists were Amity Law School, Delhi, and Gandhinagar National Law University. Hon’ble Justices (Mr.) Rajiv Shakdher and (Mr.) Jayant Nath presided on the bench for the finals. The winning team of the 16th Raj Anand Moot Court Competition was Gandhinagar National Law University comprising Aarathi M Krishan, Mishti Dubey and Yash Malviya. The team from National Law Institute University, Bhopal, bagged the Best Memorial award as well as the Best Speaker Award, which was won by Ms. Charu Vyas.

    Also, the competition unveiled the launch of a special purpose vehicle called Anand Anand & Gaggar to address hybrid cases.

    Next Story