KIIT School Of Law Won The 7th RGNUL National Moot Court Competition

manav malhotra

5 April 2018 5:26 PM GMT

  • KIIT School Of Law Won The 7th RGNUL National Moot Court Competition

    Rajiv Gandhi National University of Law, Punjab organized its 7th National Moot Court Competition from 30th March 2018 to 1st April 2018. A total of 64 teams participated in the competition. Participants from different National Law Universities and Law Colleges competed at various levels. The Moot proposition was on Competition Law. KIIT School of Law, Odisha won the first position. The competition was adjudged by eminent judges and academicians. The final rounds were adjudged by Dr. Vijay Aggarwal, Senior Attorney, Advaita Legal; Dr. Bidhyadhar Majhi, Director, Competition Commission of India; and Professor (Dr.) Anand Pawar, Dean, RGNUL.

    Hon’ble (Mr.) Justice B.S. Walia, Judge, Punjab and Haryana High Court, Chandigarh was the Guest of Honour for the Valedictory Session. Professor (Dr.) Paramjit S. Jaswal, Vice-Chancellor, RGNUL, Dr. Vijay Aggarwal, Dr. Bidhyadhar Majhi, Professor (Dr.) Anand Pawar and Dr. Shilpa Jain, Coordinator, Moot Competition were also present on the occasion. Justice B.S. Walia eulogized the hard work of the participants. He talked about the significance of each case in the life of a lawyer. “Profession is not means of livelihood but a way of living,” said Justice B.S. Walia. He told the young budding lawyers that they would get varied and endless opportunities to serve the society during their career. Justice B.S. Walia advised the students of law to be truthful, honest and sincere in litigation. “Honesty in the litigation process leads to contentment,” he said. He further, added that every student of law must endeavor to secure justice to the needy during their professional years. “Winners of the event,” he said, “must not rest on laurels but must keep excelling their skills.”

    Following Winners:

    • MNLU, Mumbai were the Runners-up.

    • Nikitha Susan Paulson, National University of Advanced Legal Studies, Kochi won the Best Speaker Award (Rs. 10,000/-).

    • Karann Damani, School of Law, Christ (Deemed to be University), Bengaluru was adjudged the Best Researcher (Rs. 10,000/-).

    • The written submission of School of Law, UPES, Deharadun was adjudged as the Best Memorial (Rs. 15,000/-).

    Professor (Dr.) Paramjit S. Jaswal congratulated the winners. He remarked that every participant must have gained more legal knowledge during the competition. “The observations of the judges would enable the participants to improve their researching and speaking skills,” he said. In his address, Dr. Bidayadhar Majhi elaborated upon the economic philosophy of competition. Dr. Vijay K. Aggarwal focused on the importance of Procedural Law in his speech.

    At last, Professor (Dr.) Anand Pawar extended a vote of thanks. He expressed his gratitude to Competition Commission of India, SCC online and EBC for sponsoring the event. He thanked the participants for making the competition a success.

    Next Story