HNLU: 1st Justice Hidayatullah International Moot Court Competition [March 15th To 17th]


14 Dec 2023 7:14 AM GMT

  • HNLU: 1st Justice Hidayatullah International Moot Court Competition [March 15th To 17th]
    Listen to this Article

    Established in 2003, Hidayatullah National Law University (HNLU), a premier institute for legal education and research is celebrating its 20th Year of establishment. The University's motto, 'Dharma Sansthapanartham'', translates to 'for the sake of establishing the primacy of laws of eternal values.' In line with this ethos, HNLU strives to provide advanced legal education that shapes students into more than just legal professionals; it instills in them a profound responsibility to contribute to society.

    Starting as a part of the centenary celebration of eminent jurist and author Justice Hidayatullah, HNLU has already hosted 13 successful editions of the Hidayatullah National Moot Court Competition (HNMCC). They have announced that HNLU's premier moot court competition has now gone International. HNLU is hosting the 1st edition of the Justice Hidayatullah International Moot Court Competition (HIMCC). HIMCC is scheduled to take place from 15th March to 17th March 2024 on campus at HNLU, Nava Raipur, Chhattisgarh, India.

    The 1st Justice Hidayatullah International Moot Court Competition (The 'Moot') is an annual competition of teams representing various law schools across the world. The 13 editions of the HNMCC have also benefitted from the expertise of an experienced panel of judges. The panel has comprised Managing Partners of top law firms in the country and sitting judges of the High Court of Chhattisgarh for the final rounds. The preceding rounds have been judged by a stellar pool of Partners from reputed law firms, eminent academicians, and prominent advocates practicing at various High Courts and the Supreme Court of India.

    This year, the moot proposition has been drafted with the help of AZB & Partners.

    Eligibility Criteria

    • All students enrolled bona fide regularly in an undergraduate/post-graduate law course (Including LL.M. Programs) or its equivalent conducted by any recognized institution.
    • However, only one (1) team shall be eligible to participate, per recognized institution.
    • In a system where a university has constituent colleges/institutes/schools/faculty of law/department etc. each such constituent entity can register a team or the university as such can be represented by a team comprising students from different constituent colleges.

    Team Composition

    • Each Team shall comprise a maximum of three (3) members out of which two (2) members shall be designated as speakers, and one (1) member shall be a researcher.
    • The teams may choose to participate without a Researcher. However, either of the other two members must appear for the Researcher Test.
    • Once the team composition is communicated to the Secretariat, no change in team composition shall be permitted unless prior permission has been obtained from the Secretariat.

    Registration Deadlines

    Provisional Registration: 10th January 2024, 11:59 PM IST.

    Final Registration: 20th January 2024, 11:59 PM IST.

    Payment Details

    The registration fee for the Competition is ₹ 7,000 and has to be paid either through RTGS/NEFT/IMPS. The payment details can be found in the registration form.

    Please Note:

    • ₹ 7,000 shall be paid at the time of Final Registration.
    • Accommodation Fee of ₹3,000 shall be paid post qualification in Memorial Knockout Rounds for the teams opting for the same.
    • The Registration form can be accessed here.
    • Please note that the Provisional Registration must be completed first by the Moot Court Committee of the Institution, only post which, the Final Registration shall be done.

    Awards And Trophies

    All participating teams will be provided with a Certificate of Participation. Special awards will be distributed in the following categories:

    1) Team

    • The team that wins the final round will be adjudged as the 'Winner of the 1st HIMCC 2024 and will get an amount of ₹ 2,00,000/- along with a trophy.
    • The team that secures second place will get the title of 'Runners-up' and ₹ 1,50,000/- as a cash prize.

    2) Best Memorial

    The team with the highest memorial score (aggregate) will get the 'Best Memorial' prize along with a cash prize of ₹75,000/-.

    3) Best Speaker

    The speaker who secures the highest score (aggregate) after the Preliminary Rounds will get an award for the 'Best Speaker' with a cash prize of ₹75,000/-.

    4) Best Researcher

    The researcher with the highest score in the Researcher Test will get the 'Best Researcher's prize along with a cash prize of ₹50, 000/-.

    Important Links

    Click here for the Brochure and Moot Proposition of the Competition.

    Click here for the Registration form.

    Important Dates

    Sr. No.



    Release of Moot Problem

    6th Nov 2023


    Opening of Registrations

    10th Nov 2023

    Closing of Provisional Registration

    10th Jan 2024

    Last Date of Seeking Clarification

    15th Jan 2024

    Closing of Final Registration

    20th Jan 2024

    Release of Clarifications

    25th Jan 2024

    Memorial Submission

    30th Jan 2024

    Release of Result of Memo Rounds

    15th Feb 2024

    Final competition

    15th - 17th March 2024

    Contact Information


    Dr Anindhya Tiwari, Organising Secretary

    Phone: +91-9680130090.

    Next Story