3 NLUD Professors Part Of MHA's Committee On Criminal Reforms

Aasavri Rai

6 May 2020 6:19 AM GMT

  • 3 NLUD Professors Part Of MHAs Committee On Criminal Reforms

    The Ministry of Home Affairs, Government of India, vide its Notification 1-2-19 Judicial Cell (Part I) dated 4-5-2020, has constituted a committee to recommend criminal reforms in India.

    The five-member committee comprises three professors from National Law University, Delhi, including the chairperson and the convenor of the committee.

    The composition of the Committee is as follows:

    • Prof. (Dr.) Ranbir Singh (Chairperson), Vice-Chancellor, National Law University Delhi
    • Prof. (Dr.) G.S. Bajpai (Member & Convenor), Registrar, National Law University Delhi
    • Prof. (Dr.) Mrinal Satish (Member), Professor, National Law University Delhi
    • Mr. Mahesh Jethmalani (Member), Senior Advocate, Supreme Court of India
    • Mr. G.P. Thareja (Member), Former District & Session Judge, Delhi

    The Committee seeks to recommend reforms in the criminal law of the country in a principled, effective and efficient manner that ensures the safety and security of the individual, the community and the nation; and which prioritises the constitutional values of justice, dignity, and the inherent worth of the individual.

    Towards this end the Committee shall also undertake country-wide consultations with law enforcement agencies, prosecutors, judiciary, advocates, academics, and civil society including media organisations. The Committee will be assisted by a set of researchers and consultants.

    For further details, click here.

    Next Story