News Updates

M.K. Mishra elected as Bar Council Chairman and S. Prabakaran as Co-Chairman

Apoorva Mandhani
11 Nov 2014 12:11 PM GMT
M.K. Mishra elected as Bar Council Chairman and S. Prabakaran as Co-Chairman
Your free access to Live Law has expired
To read the article, get a premium account.
    Your Subscription Supports Independent Journalism
Subscription starts from
(For 6 Months)
Premium account gives you:
  • Unlimited access to Live Law Archives, Weekly/Monthly Digest, Exclusive Notifications, Comments.
  • Reading experience of Ad Free Version, Petition Copies, Judgement/Order Copies.
Already a subscriber?

By a unanimous election on Sunday, the Bar council of India elected Mr. Manan Kumar Mishra as the Chairman and Mr. S. Prabakaran, as the Co- Chairman, in a meeting held in Cochin. Mr. Bhoje Gowda S.L. was elected as Vice-Chairman.

Mr. M.K. Mishra has been a member of the State Bar Council of Bihar since 1987 and was the Chairman of the Bar Council of India for two years, since April, 2012. He will succeed Mr. Biri Singh Sinsinwar, who resigned from the post on November 9.

Mr. Prabakaran is a senior advocate of Madras High Court. He is the spokesperson of the BCI and a member of the Academic and General Councils of the National Law School, Bangalore and Director, International Council of Jurists.

The Executive committee had a unanimous election as well, electing Mr. T.S. Ajith, who represents Kerala, as chairman of the executive committee, and Mr Nilesh Kumar, who represents Jharkhand, as vice-chairman. They will hold office till April 2016.

Next Story