News Updates

NLSIU Alumnus Prof. Sudhir Krishnaswamy To Serve As The New VC Of NLSIU

4 Aug 2019 1:31 PM GMT
NLSIU Alumnus Prof. Sudhir Krishnaswamy To Serve As The New VC Of NLSIU
Your free access to Live Law has expired
To read the article, get a premium account.
    Your Subscription Supports Independent Journalism
Subscription starts from
(For 6 Months)
Premium account gives you:
  • Unlimited access to Live Law Archives, Weekly/Monthly Digest, Exclusive Notifications, Comments.
  • Reading experience of Ad Free Version, Petition Copies, Judgement/Order Copies.
Already a subscriber?

Prof. Sudhir Krishnaswamy has been appointed as the new Vice Chancellor of National Law School of India University, Bangalore by the NLSIU Executive Council.

On July 10, 2019, a Committee was constituted by the NLSIU Executive Council, under the Chairmanship of Supreme Court Judge, Justice Sharad Arvind Bobde. Other members of the committee included retired SC Judge, Justice V. Gopala Gowda, sitting SC Judge, Justice Mohan M. Shantanagoudar, NLSIU Professor Dr. V. S. Elizabeth and Chairperson of the Bar Council of India, Manan Kumar Mishra. The committee was created for the purpose of interacting with three short-listed candidates and recommending a suitable candidate to be appointed as the Vice Chancellor of NLSIU.

On July 23, 2019, the committee met at Additional Complex of the Supreme Court (in the absence of Mr. Manan) and interacted with the three candidates, namely Prof. Sudhir Krishnaswamy, Prof. Shashikala Gurpur and Prof. Srikrishna Deva Rao, one at a time, in the same order. Subsequently, the name of Prof. Sudhir Krishnaswamy was recommended for the said position. The final decision was taken by the Executive Council of NLSIU pursuant to the aforementioned recommendation.

Prof. Krishnaswamy is an alumnus of NLSIU itself from the batch of 1998 and holds a BCL and Doctor of Philosophy from Oxford University. Formerly, he has held the positions of Teaching Fellow in Law at the Pembroke College at Oxford University, an Assistant Professor at NLSIU and a Professor at the West Bengal National University of Juridical Sciences, Kolkata. He co-founded the Centre for Law & Policy Research and authored the book titled 'Democracy and Constitutionalism in India', published by the Oxford University Press in 2009. He has also been a part of the Prime Minister's Committee on Infrastructure and the Kasturirangan Committee on Governance of Bangalore.

The other finalist Prof. Sashikala Gurpur is the director of Symbiosis Law School, Pune and Prof. Srikrishna Deva Rao is the Vice Chancellor of NLU Odisha.

Meanwhile, Prof Dr. M. K. Ramesh will be in charge as the Additional Vice-Chancellor till Professor Krishnaswamy takes over. He will become the first alumni to take charge at their own alma mater national law school, after the final approval of the CJI.

Pic from here

Next Story
Share it