NLIU, Bhopal- The Winner of 7th National Moot Court Competition

Simran Sahni

13 Feb 2017 8:09 AM GMT

  • NLIU, Bhopal- The Winner of 7th National Moot Court Competition
    Institute of Law, Norma University organized its annual flagship event – 7th National Moot Court Competition after the success of its previous editions. This time the competition was organized in collaboration with the Chambers of Mr. K. T. S.Tulsi, Sr. Advocate, Supreme Court of India from 10th – 12th February, 2017 at the Institute.

    The Chief Guest for the evening was Prof. (Dr.) Shamnad Basheer (Founder of Spicy IP and IDIA). We were graced by the presence of Ms. Nimisha Shrivastava, Prof. (Dr.) Purvi Pokhariyal (Director and Dean, ILNU), Dr. Tarkesh Molia (Academic Coordinator, ILNU) and Mr. U. Varadharajan (Assistant Professor, ILNU, and Faculty Chairperson of Moot Court Organizing Committee, ILNU).

    The opening address was given by Prof. (Dr.) Purvi Pokhriyal by welcoming all the participants and she stressed on the importance of moving from cognition to meta-cognitive learning while pointing out that moot is important for law students. Prof. (Dr.) Shamnad Basheer observed that whilst studying laws, studying philosophy is also important, as it helps develop your thinking process. He stressed on the importance of criminal law, as it reflects the society and gives a lawyer more deep insight into the working of the society. Ms. Nimisha Shrivastava stressed on the importance of awareness regarding child sexual abuse and imbibing law in our lives.

    The following two days saw the counsels arguing and responding to the grilling questions of the judges and answering them became tough for some of them leading to their elimination or applauds from the judges. The team of National Law Institute University (NLIU), Bhopal won the moot with GNLU’s Mr. Nilotpalam Tiwari winning Best Researcher; Mr. Ankit Gupta from NLIU won Best Speaker; National University of Advanced Legal Studies (NUALS), Kochi were the Runner –Ups and also won the Best Memorial award.

    The valedictory session of the competition was graced by the presence of Shri K.T.S. Tulsi, Senior Advocate; Ms Geeta Luthra, Senior Advocate; Prof. (Dr.) Purvi Pokhariyal, Director and Dean, Institute of Law, Nirma University; Dr. Tarkesh Molia, Academic Coordinator, ILNU, and Mr. U. Varadharajan, Faculty Coordinator, Moot Court Organizing Committee.
    Next Story