News Updates

Ravenshaw University Honour Refused by SC Judge and HRD Minister

Live Law News Network
3 July 2013 2:34 PM GMT
Ravenshaw University Honour Refused by SC Judge and HRD Minister
Your free access to Live Law has expired
To read the article, get a premium account.
    Your Subscription Supports Independent Journalism
Subscription starts from
(For 6 Months)
Premium account gives you:
  • Unlimited access to Live Law Archives, Weekly/Monthly Digest, Exclusive Notifications, Comments.
  • Reading experience of Ad Free Version, Petition Copies, Judgement/Order Copies.
Already a subscriber?
In an interesting development, Supreme Court Judge Dipak Misra and Union Human Resource Development minister M M Pallam Raju have refused to accept the honorary doctorate degree to be conferred on them by Ravenshaw University at its sixth annual convocation ceremony.

Justice Misra in his letter to the vice-chancellor of the University has cited that he holds a constitutional position and it would not be proper to accept the honorary doctorate degree. Mr. Raju, on the other hand, has politely declined it on the ground that he cannot accept it in the capacity of HRD minister.

The University authorities have made elaborate preparations for the convocation and Raju will be the chief guest at the convocation. The University also plans to appeal the HRD minister to grant central university tag to Ravenshaw.

Last year, the University had courted similar controversy over selection of industrialist Shobhana Bhartia for conferring the honorary degree, whose name was later dropped from the list of awardees.

Interestingly former Supreme Court Judge, Justice Cyriac Joseph who faced much criticism for delivering low number of judgments during his tenure spanning around three years, has been conferred a honorary doctorate degree by the Karunya University very recently. Former Chief Justice of India, Justice K G Balakrishnan was awarded six honorary doctorates while Justice H R Khanna and Justice J S Verma were awarded none.
Next Story