Top Stories

SC collegium clears 24 names for HC Judgeship; Centre accepts suggestion to transfer four HC Judges

Ashok KM
24 July 2016 5:54 AM GMT
SC collegium clears 24 names for HC Judgeship; Centre accepts suggestion to transfer four HC Judges
Your free access to Live Law has expired
To read the article, get a premium account.
    Your Subscription Supports Independent Journalism
Subscription starts from
(For 6 Months)
Premium account gives you:
  • Unlimited access to Live Law Archives, Weekly/Monthly Digest, Exclusive Notifications, Comments.
  • Reading experience of Ad Free Version, Petition Copies, Judgement/Order Copies.
Already a subscriber?

The Supreme Court Collegium has reportedly cleared 24 names for Judgeship in Madras High Court, which includes 15 from the Bar and 9 from the Bench.

The names cleared, as per reports, are the following: Bhavani Subbaroyan, A.D. Jagdish Chandra, Sathia Chandran, G.R. Swaminathan, Abdul Quddhose, M. Dhandapani, P.D. Audikesavalu, V. Parthiban, R. Subrama-niam, M. Govindaraj, M. Sundar, R. Sureshkumar, NishaBanu, M.S. Ramesh, Anita Sumanth and S.M. Subramanaiam.

The nine district judges whose names have been cleared are: R.M.T. Teeka Raman, N. Sathishkumar, N. Sesha-sayee, T. Ravindran, S. Baskaran, P. Velmur-ugan, G. Jayachandran, C.V. Karthikeyan and Basheer Ahmed.

The Collegium is reported to have cleared the names on its meeting on Friday, last week. The Madras High Court had sent 30 names, of which six has been now rejected by the collegium. Presently there are 38 judges in Madras High Court and 37 vacancies.

In yet another development, it is being reported that Central Government has have accepted the suggestions by the Supreme Court Collegium to transfer four High Court Judges. According to New Indian Express report, “Justice F A Ansari has been designated as Patna High Court Chief Justice, followed by the transfer of Chief Justice of Andhra Pradesh and Telengana Justice D B Bhosle as Chief Justice of Allahabad High Court. Justice Indira Banerjee of Calcutta High Court has been transferred to Delhi High Court while Justice M MShantanagoudar of Karnataka High Court has been moved to the Kerala High Court. Acting Chief Justice of Punjab and Haryana High Court S J Wajifdar has been asked to act as Chief Justice of the same court.”

Next Story