News Updates

SC Collegium Recommends 7 Additional Judges Of Karnataka HC Be Made Permanent

ashok kini
11 Oct 2018 11:59 AM GMT
SC Collegium Recommends 7 Additional Judges Of Karnataka HC Be Made Permanent
Your free access to Live Law has expired
To read the article, get a premium account.
    Your Subscription Supports Independent Journalism
Subscription starts from
(For 6 Months)
Premium account gives you:
  • Unlimited access to Live Law Archives, Weekly/Monthly Digest, Exclusive Notifications, Comments.
  • Reading experience of Ad Free Version, Petition Copies, Judgement/Order Copies.
Already a subscriber?

The Supreme Court Collegium has recommended to make 7 Additional Judges of Karnataka High court be made permanent.

The collegium comprising of CJI Ranjan Gogoi, Justice Madan B Lokur and Justice Kurian Joseph decided to make the following judges permanent

  • Justice Kempaiah Somashekar

  • Justice K. Somappa Mudagal

  • Justice Sreenivas H. Kumar

  • Justice John Michael Cunha

  • Justice Basavaraj A. Patil

  • Justice N.K.Sudhindrarao

  • Justice Dr. H.B.P.Sastry

Earlier, the High court collegium had unanimously made the recommendation and it had concurrence of the Government of Karnataka. The collegium has also taken into account the report of a two judge committee which had assessed the Judgments of the above-named recommendees.

The minutes also read: “We have also taken note of certain complaints received in the office of Chief Justice of India making allegations against some of the above-named recommendees. On examination, we do not find any prima facie substance in these complaints, which deserve to be ignored.”

In the same meeting, the Collegium has recommended names of Advocates V.G.Arun, N. Nagaresh, and P.V.Kunhikrishnan and Judicial officers T.V.Anilkumar and  N. Anil Kumar as Kerala High court Judges.

Read the Resolution Here

Next Story