Top Stories

SC gets 4 New Courts, Changes Court Room Numbers

Apoorva Mandhani
30 Jun 2017 5:15 PM GMT
SC gets 4 New Courts, Changes Court Room Numbers
Your free access to Live Law has expired
To read the article, get a premium account.
    Your Subscription Supports Independent Journalism
Subscription starts from
(For 6 Months)
Premium account gives you:
  • Unlimited access to Live Law Archives, Weekly/Monthly Digest, Exclusive Notifications, Comments.
  • Reading experience of Ad Free Version, Petition Copies, Judgement/Order Copies.
Already a subscriber?

As per a Circular issued on Friday, the Supreme Court will now have four new Courtrooms, when it re-opens on 3 July after the vacations.

Besides, a few Court rooms have been re-numbered. While current Court room 8 has now been changed to Court room 10, Court room 6 will become Court room 8. Court room 7 will house Court room 9, and current Court room 9 will become Court room 11.

Moreover, Court rooms 11, 13 and 15 together become Court rooms 13 and 15. Current Court rooms 10, 12 and 14 have been amalgamated to house two Court rooms – 12 and 14.

SCBA members had been informed of the development earlier through a letter by the SCBA President, Mr. Rupinder Singh Suri.

As per the letter, each of these new Court rooms will have a seating capacity of about 75, as opposed to the present seating capacity of 35.

Next Story
Share it