Four New SC Judges To Be Sworn In Tomorrow

Four New SC Judges To Be Sworn In Tomorrow

The swearing in ceremony of Justices B R Gavai, Surya Kant, Aniruddha Bose and A S Bopanna as Supreme Court judges will take place at 10.30 AM tomorrow.

The centre had notified the appointments of these judges yesterday.

With their appointments, the Supreme Court will have the full strength of 31 judges.

It was on May 8 that the SC collegium recommended the elevation of Justice Gavai from Bombay High Court (Nagpur Bench) and Surya Kant, who is the Chief Justice of Himachal Pradesh High Court.

On May 8 itself, the Collegium had reiterated the proposals for elevation of Justices Aniruddha Bose( CJ of Jharkhand HC) and A S Bopanna(CJ of Guahati HC). This was done on the very next day of the Centre returning the earlier proposal forwarded by the Collegium on April 12 for their elevation.