News Updates

Twentieth Law Commission gets one full time and two part time members

Live Law News Network
15 Jun 2013 3:59 AM GMT
Twentieth Law Commission gets one full time and two part time members
Your free access to Live Law has expired
To read the article, get a premium account.
    Your Subscription Supports Independent Journalism
Subscription starts from
(For 6 Months)
Premium account gives you:
  • Unlimited access to Live Law Archives, Weekly/Monthly Digest, Exclusive Notifications, Comments.
  • Reading experience of Ad Free Version, Petition Copies, Judgement/Order Copies.
Already a subscriber?
Justice Usha Mehra, retired Judge of the High Court of Delhi, has been appointed as a full-time Member of the 20th Law Commission of India. Justice Mehra headed the Commission of Inquiry set up to study various aspect of the Delhi rape case which occurred on 16th December, 2012.

Dr. Bijai Narain Mani, eminent law author, and Dr. Gurjeet Singh, Director General of the National Law University & Judicial Academy, Assam, have been appointed as part-time Members of the Commission.

All the three new members will have tenure till the end of the term of the 20th Law Commission, i.e. till 31st August 2015.

The Twentieth Law Commission was constituted with effect from 1st September, 2012. Former Supreme Court Judge, Justice D K Jain is the present Chairman of the Commission.


Image Courtesy: Jamie Mitchell
Next Story