News Updates

Delhi HC Orders Major Reshuffle In DJS, Many Courts Abolished [Read List]

Live Law News Network
10 Sep 2017 6:19 AM GMT
Your free access to Live Law has expired
To read the article, get a premium account.
    Your Subscription Supports Independent Journalism
Subscription starts from
(For 6 Months)
Premium account gives you:
  • Unlimited access to Live Law Archives, Weekly/Monthly Digest, Exclusive Notifications, Comments.
  • Reading experience of Ad Free Version, Petition Copies, Judgement/Order Copies.
Already a subscriber?

In yet another step towards judicial reforms ensuring efficient administration of subordinate judiciary, Delhi High Court Acting Chief Justice Gita Mittal has transferred 87 judicial officers and abolished 15 courts, besides 13 traffic courts.

Many courts have been re-designated.

In an order issued on September 7, Justice Mittal announced the transfers/ postings in Delhi Judicial Service.

All transfers and postings will take effect from September 11 i.e. Monday.

The move comes less than two weeks after Justice Mittal and five other high court judges made a surprise visit to different district courts to evaluate their functioning.

Justice Mittal had visited Patiala House in an autorickshaw.

The high court has now directed all district and sessions judges to ensure that the reshuffle is brought in effect and cases are transferred without causing any inconvenience to the litigants and lawyers. The movement of cases will be notified on the website of Delhi district courts.

In Tis Hazari's Central district, courts of two metropolitan magistrates (MM) and four civil courts have been abolished. Two MM courts have been done away with in West district.

One magisterial court has been abolished in East, South and South-East while three MM courts have been abolished in South-West.

The work of 13 traffic courts, which now stand abolished, will be assigned to the courts of metropolitan magistrates as specified in the order.

Read the List Here

Next Story