Eight Directors Participated In RBI's Meeting Prior To Demonetisation: Finance Ministry

Eight Directors Participated In RBI

Minister of State in the Ministry of Finance Arjun Ram Meghwal has informed the Lok Sabha that RBI held a meeting of its Central Board on November 8, 2016.

The agenda of the meeting, inter-alia, included the item : “Memorandum on existing banknotes in the denomination of Rs 500 and Rs 1000 - Legal Tender Status”.

According to the written reply given by the Minister in answer to a question by a member, the following directors were attended the meeting:

  1. Dr. Urjit R. Patel, Governor 2. Shri R. Gandhi, Deputy Governor

  1. Shri S. S. Mundra, Deputy Governor

  1. Shri Shaktikanta Das, Director

  1. Ms. Anjuly Chib Duggal, Director

  1. Dr. Nachiket Mor, Director

  1. Shri Bharat N. Doshi, Director

  1. Shri Sudhir Mankad, Director

Finance Minister Arun Jaitley on Friday introduced a Bill on demonetisation in the Lok Sabha to formally make the banning of Rs 500 and Rs 1,000 notes a law.

The Specified Bank Notes (Cessation of Liabilities) Bill, 2017, seeks to replace the ordinance on demonetisation promulgated by the government in December 2016.