News Updates

After A Five Year Gap, Bombay HC Designates 22 Lawyers As Senior Advocates [Read Notification]

Nitish Kashyap
11 Feb 2020 2:36 PM GMT
After A Five Year Gap, Bombay HC Designates 22 Lawyers As Senior Advocates [Read Notification]
Your free access to Live Law has expired
To read the article, get a premium account.
    Your Subscription Supports Independent Journalism
Subscription starts from
(For 6 Months)
Premium account gives you:
  • Unlimited access to Live Law Archives, Weekly/Monthly Digest, Exclusive Notifications, Comments.
  • Reading experience of Ad Free Version, Petition Copies, Judgement/Order Copies.
Already a subscriber?

The Appellate Side of the Bombay High Court issued a notification on February 10, 2020 designating 22 advocates as senior advocates of the High Court. Last time the High Court designated seniors was five years ago in 2015 when seven advocates were designated.

Previously Court had received 57 applications from lawyers seeking to be designated as Seniors. High Court published a notice making the names public inviting suggestions and views from stakeholders on the proposal.
This was done in compliance with the Bombay High Court (Designation of Senior Advocates) Rules, 2018 which were framed following the Supreme court's ruling in October 2018 on Senior Advocate Indira Jaising's petition.
The four page notification issued by Registrar General Shrinivas B Agarwal states-
"In exercise of the powers conferred by section 16 (2) of the Advocates Act, 1961 and in accordance with the Rules framed by the High Court thereunder the High Court of Judicature of Bombay is pleased to designate following advocates as senior advocates with effect from February 10, 2020-
1) Rajkumar Bhaskar Thakare
2) Jayant Pandurang Mulgaonkar
3) Mukesh Vitthalrao Samarth
4) Ramchandra Gajanan Ramani
5) Agnelo Francis Diniz
6) Rajendra Vyankatesh Pai
7) Ravindra Laxmanrao Khapre
8) Tushad Khurshed Cooper
9) Santosh Rama Rivankar
10) Sanjog Sadanand Parab
11) Rajendra Adhik Shirodkar
12) Manoj Shamrao Mohite
13) Pradeep Shivnarain Jetly
14) Rajendrakumar Sudhakar Deshmukh
15) Vijaykumar Damodhar Sapkal
16) Vishwajit Parshuram Sawant
17) Aabad Harshad Ponda
18) Snehal Krishnakant Shah
19) Nikhil M Sakhardande
20) Birendra Kumar Saraf
21) Zal Tehmtan Andhyarujina
22) Sharan Haresh Jagtiani.
Read Notification

Next Story