Click Here To Read LiveLaw Hindi- The First Hindi Legal News Website

Prof. (Dr.) Shamnad Basheer To Receive Pirappancode Memorial Award For “Outstanding Lawyer With Social Commitment” For 2017

Founder of SpicyIP, Prof. (Dr.) Shamnad Basheer, has been awarded the Pirappancode Sreedharan Memorial Award for outstanding lawyer with social commitment for the year 2017.

Mr. Basheer is also the Managing Trustee of IDIA (Increasing Diversity by Increasing Access to Legal Education), which has been a pioneer in the struggle for elimination of inequities in education. Since its inception, IDIA has not just reached out to several marginalized and under-represented groups, helping them dream a dream that was until now the privilege of only a handful, it has also helped several such dreamers to achieve the unthinkable.

The award will be presented on 6 January, 2018 at the Trivandrum Bar Association Hall. The function will be inaugurated by Acting Chief Justice of Kerala High Court, Justice Antony Dominic. It will be presented by the Minister for Public Works, Mr. V.G. Sudhakaran, while the Minister for Forest Mr. Raju will preside as the Chief Guest. Former Speaker, Mr. M. Vijayan will also grace the occasion.

The Award, instituted by the Kerala Lawyers Club, has been established in memory Mr. Pirappancode Sreedharan Nair, who was the founder President of the club. The award committee is chaired by former Speaker of Kerala Legislative Assembly and Law Minister, Mr. M. Vijayakumar (Convener), along with Justice Rajendra Babu and Advocate Cherunniyoor Sasidharan Nair.

Since 2013, the award has been received by Senior Advocates Mr. Prashant Bhushan and Mr. Gopal Subramaniam, Former MP Mr. Sebastian Paul, and Advocate General of Kerala Mr. Sudhakara Prasad.

Prof. Basheer was awarded with Infosys Prize in the year 2014.

Got Something To Say:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *