Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
News Updates

SC Collegium Recommends 18 Additional Judges In 5 High Courts To Be Made Permanent

Apoorva Mandhani
10 Aug 2018 6:23 PM GMT
SC Collegium Recommends 18 Additional Judges In 5 High Courts To Be Made Permanent

The Supreme Court Collegium, through several resolutions passed on 8 August, recommended 18 Additional Justices in five High Courts to be made permanent.

The Collegium comprising Chief Justice of India Dipak Misra, Justice Ranjan Gogoi and Justice MB Lokur recommended the following Additional Judges for permanent judgeship:

Allahabad High Court

  1. Justice Mahboob Ali

  2. Justice Rang Nath Pandey

  3. Justice Aniruddha Singh

  4. Justice Dinesh Kumar Singh-I

  5. Justice Ifaqat Ali Khan

  6. Justice Umesh Chandra Tripathi

The Collegium took note of certain complaints received by the office of the CJI against a few of the above-named recommendees, but opined that the complaints deserved to be ignored.

Patna High Court

  1. Justice Birendra Kumar

  2. Justice Arvind Srivastava

  3. Justice Vinod Kumar Sinha

  4. Justice Sanjay Priya

  5. Justice Sanjay Kumar

There were certain complaints received by the CJI’s office against some of these recommendees as well. The Collegium, however, did not find any prima facie substance in the complaints. It further took note of the issue of transfer of Justice Birendra Kumar, but said that it would be considered by the Collegium comprising the Chief Justice of India and four senior-most Judges of the Supreme Court in due course of time.

Rajasthan High Court

  1. Justice Ashok Kumar Gaur

  2. Justice Manoj Kumar Garg

  3. Justice Inderjeet Singh

  4. Justice Virendra Kumar Mathur

Jharkhand High Court

  1. Justice Shiva Nand Pathak

  2. Justice Rajesh Shankar

Uttarakhand High Court

  1. Justice Sharad Kumar Sharma

Read the Resolutions Here


Next Story
Share it