Top Stories

Nirbhaya Case : SC Dismisses Curative Pleas Of Two Death Row Convicts [Read Order]

14 Jan 2020 8:48 AM GMT
Nirbhaya Case : SC Dismisses Curative Pleas Of Two Death Row Convicts [Read Order]
Your free access to Live Law has expired
To read the article, get a premium account.
    Your Subscription Supports Independent Journalism
Subscription starts from
(For 6 Months)
Premium account gives you:
  • Unlimited access to Live Law Archives, Weekly/Monthly Digest, Exclusive Notifications, Comments.
  • Reading experience of Ad Free Version, Petition Copies, Judgement/Order Copies.
Already a subscriber?

A 5-judge bench of the Supreme Court on Tuesday dismissed the curative petitions of Vinay Sharma and Mukesh, two of the four convicts awaiting execution of death penalty in the Nirbhaya gang rape-murder case.

The bench comprising Justices N V Ramana, Arun Mishra, R F Nariman, R Banumathi and Ashok Bhushan did not find any merits in the curative petitions.

On January 7, Additional Sessions Judge, Patiala House Court in Delhi had issued death warrants for the hanging of all four convicts on January 22. 

The curative petitions of Vinay Sharma and Mukesh were filed after that. The other two convicts, Pawan Gupta and Akshay Singh, still have the option of the filing curative pleas.

The option of submitting mercy petitions before the President is also available to all the four convicts.

Last month, SC bench comprising Justices Banumathi, Ashok Bhushan and A S Bopanna had dismissed the review plea of convict Akshay, after which the Delhi court has issued death warrant against the convicts. The review petitions of other three convicts were dismissed by SC in July 2018.

The death penalty was upheld by the Supreme Court on May 5, 2017.

On December 16-17 night, 2012, a paramedico student was gang-raped in a moving bus by five men and a juvenile. Few days after, the victim had succumbed to the brutal injury caused to her by them.

Prime accused Ram Singh had committed suicide in the Tihar jail in March 2013. 

Click Here To Download Order

[Read Order]

Next Story